Accaoui Catamounts’ point guard?

by

I’m back in Burlington for the first time since the day before the University of Vermont men’s basketball team played at Rutgers. Heck, I’m worn out just traveling and writing, so I can imagine how exhausted the Catamounts are after playing six games in 10 days.

One player showed no signs of fatigue during Tuesday’s grind-it-out, 63-58 victory at Dartmouth: Junior guard Joey Accaoui, who splashed in a career-high 17 points.

After the game, UVM coach Mike Lonergan hinted at the possibility of Accaoui becoming the Catamounts’ primary point guard.

“Late in the game I thought he was tremendous,” Lonergan said about Accaoui. “We might think about giving him a look to be our point guard; we just have to figure out what our best lineup is. He kept his composure, he took the ball to the basket, he made the right decisions and he’s a terrific free-throw shooter.”

It’s hard to tell if Lonergan is ready to move Accaoui to the point, or if he is simply putting a charge in senior Nick Vier, who has been the starting — although inconsistent — point guard in every game this season.

When asked about the possibility, Accaoui did his best to defuse any talk of a point-guard controversy.

“I just go out there and try to play my game. That’s my job to come off the bench and bring energy at the guard position,” Accaoui said. “Nick is a great player and we are going to need him to play well for us to win, so I’m not really worried about that. I think he’ll be back and playing well soon. I just keep playing my role, that’s to get on the floor and stay aggressive.”

****

Remember to follow my UVM basketball updates on Twitter.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

